Kamimura Hinano Interview (Entame 04/2020)

Interviewer: Kamimura-san, you’ve been introduced on “Hinatazaka de Aimashou” as a “Oogiri Girl Genius” and have done very well in variety! I hear there’s been a large reaction to it.
Kamimura: At handshake events fans will compliment me saying, “Your oogiri was funny,” and make requests like, “Say ‘Genkidashitenchou.'”
Interviewer: How are the tapings of “Hinatazaka de Aimashou”?
Kamimura: Audrey-san have a really strong presence. They can turn anything we say into a laugh, which is very reassuring, and I think it makes it easy for everyone to speak up. I knew about the trust the members and Audrey-san had before joining because I watched “Hiragana Oshi”, and I think that’s why I was able to quickly fit in and start speaking up.
Interviewer: What kind of things do you keep in mind during tapings?
Kamimura: I’m shy, so there are times I get embarrassed about speaking up, but I try to talk as much as I can. I think that’s important for making an interesting program. I also make sure I earnestly write in the questionnaires they give us beforehand. I have a tendency to daydream so I have fun filling them in. (laughs)
Interviewer: You mean to say your fantasies get more and more out of hand as you write?
Kamimura: Yes. The ice cream shop skit I acted in with Wakabayashi-san was based off of a fantasy I’d written about in a questionnaire. So I think my tendency to daydream is useful.
Interviewer: (laughs) You sure have a unique sensibility. I’d like to take this opportunity to get to the root of it. First of all, what kind of kid were you when you were young?
Kamimura: I’ve been shy and bad with strangers since I was born. I was the kind of kid that immediately hid behind my mom when I met her friends. Everyone probably thought I was a quiet girl.
Interviewer: So that means you weren’t the type to run around outside and play?
Kamimura: Yes. I would read picture books in my room or use my dollhouse and dolls to create stories by myself. For example, I’d imagine my dollhouse was a deserted isle and have my dolls go fishing in the sea and things like that. (laughs) I did things like that from the time I was small until about my first year of middle school.
Interviewer: So your tendency to daydream that you spoke of was nurtured by you playing games like that!
Kamimura: I think so. I’ve always loved thinking up stories in my head.
Interviewer: So, what kind of presence did you have in class?
Kamimura: I think I had a really strong quiet girl persona. But my good friends would ask me, “Why do you pretend to be quiet?” (laughs)
Interviewer: So you were more excitable around your good friends?
Kamimura: That’s right. My friends would tell me I’m weird.
Interviewer: Did you hate being called “weird”?
Kamimura: No. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve wished that people would think I’m weird. I’m aware that I’m weird, because I’ve always done weird things that catch people’s attention. (laughs) My current catchphrase, “Itsudemo, dokodemo, henkakyuu” (いつでもどこでも変化球: A curve ball, anywhere, anytime.) came into being because I wanted to use the character for weird (変).
Interviewer: In short, you love things that are funny and a bit weird?
Kamimura: That’s right! My parents love comedy and I’ve watched variety shows like “Picaru no Teiri” since I was young, so I think that’s had an influence on me. Even though I say that, I didn’t think I’d ever be the one on TV at the time.
Interviewer: I also hear you were in the art club at school.
Kamimura: I was interested in drawing so I joined, but once I actually tried doing it I realized I have no talent for it and just spent my time drawing scribbles. (laughs) My original character “Dekomaruko” was born from some scribbles, so I think the experience has still been useful.
Interviewer: There are other forms of art aside from drawing, like sculpting. What about those?
Kamimura: I like making things. I’ve made things like accessories since I was young. There was also a class for making hats in elementary school, but I ended up making a mask.
Interviewer: Eh?! Why a mask and not a hat?
Kamimura: I thought a mask would be better. (laughs) I thought I’d be scolded because it was a class for making hats, but I actually got praised instead. The teacher said to me, “You have some talent for art, don’t you, Kamimura-san?”
Interviewer: That’s an unexpected development!
Kamimura: Fufufu. (laughs) I think the experience of meeting a teacher who acknowledged me, despite my eccentricities, was one of the roots that led to me being how I am now.
Interviewer: So, it’s been more than a year since you debuted in Hiragana Keyakizaka46 in December, 2018 as a 3rd generation member. What are your honest feelings looking back on it now?
Kamimura: There had never been an instance of a single member joining like I was, so I was uneasy at first. But my senpai were incredibly kind to me. It felt like they immediately accepted me as “a member of the group” rather than “a 3rd gen who joined later”, so my sense of unease was gone before I knew it.
Interviewer: Do you have any memorable stories that show your senpais’ kindness?
Kamimura: The day before the “Debut Countdown Live!!” there was a piece of paper stuck in my phone case. When I got curious and looked at it, it turned out to be a letter from Watanabe Miho-san that said, “You’re our sun, so you’ll be fine!” I was really happy and reassured! Also, when I couldn’t join in Nogizaka46-san’s chorus performance because of time issues at “NHK Uta Gassen”, Sasaki Mirei-san gave me a hug and said, “Let’s do it together next time!” They’re all truly so nice!
Interviewer: How have you changed or grown in terms of performing over the past year?
Kamimura: In regards to dancing, I used to practice it a long time ago, but I was so bad you could say I didn’t learn a thing. But soon after I joined it was decided we’d debut as Hinatazaka46, so I was suddenly learning the choreography with my senpai. It really feels like being in that environment refined my skills. I’ve also gotten used to learning choreography recently.
Interviewer: You had a solo song, “Ichiban Suki da to Minna ni Itteita Shousetsu no Title wo Omoidasenai”, on the 3rd single that went on sale in October of last year.
Kamimura: I was really happy when they gave me the song. I also felt a sense of responsibility since it was the first solo song for a member since becoming Hinatazaka46. I put a lot of effort into the voice training, and I remember going directly from training to the recording.
Interviewer: Then last year in December the “HinaKuri 2019” concert was held. How did you feel when you sang “Ichiban Suki da to~” solo in front of about 20,000 people?
Kamimura: Firstly, I was moved by the fact all the fans were cheering me on and waving my penlight colors of red and emerald green. I was incredibly nervous before going on stage, but when I went out and saw everything painted in my colors, feelings of appreciation for being allowed to go out and perform alone welled up within me.
Interviewer: It was also announced during the concert that at the end of 2020 “HinaKuri 2020” will be held in Tokyo Dome.
Kamimura: I was really surprised by that announcement! We were all so shocked we almost broke down crying.
Interviewer: I think this year will be one in which you head down the path towards Tokyo Dome.
Kamimura: I think we need to work harder than last year. I’ll make sure this year we not only grow as a group, but that I grow personally as well. I want to make this a fulfilling year so that we can show off the results of our work at “HinaKuri 2020”.
Interviewer: You say “grow personally as well”, but what exactly do you think you need to work on?
Kamimura: I joined alone and I think I’ve frequently relied on my senpai. But I need to be self-reliant. I want to be a self-reliant idol so that I can manage various things even on my own.
Interviewer: I’m also looking forward to your continued efforts in variety!
Kamimura: Thank you. (laughs) The fans also really enjoy watching “Hinatazaka de Aimashou”, so I’d like to continue doing the tapings with the goal of making everyone smile my top priority.

Master(?) Kamimura does some oogiri!

Prompt: A new member audition is taking place for Hinatazaka46. They’re being judged on dancing, singing, and what one other thing?
Kamimura: How well they can make the hot water come out when going for kaiten-zushi. – The button for hot water is usually hard to push, so I think people who can do it well must be strong. Idols use mics so I think they need grip power. You can also see how careful they are about not making too much water come out.

Prompt: Ushio Sarina-san often brings items with her to the taping of “Hinatazaka de Aimashou”. What’s her newest item?
Kamimura: She’ll come full circle and bring a bottle of tea. – She’s brought various items up to this point, but I think at the end maybe she’ll say something incredibly simple like, “Drinking tea has anti-bacterial benefits and is good for the body.”

8 things we want to ask Kamimura Hinano.

Q1: What would you want to be if you worked as something other than an idol?
Kamimura: I want to live surrounded by plant life. So I think I’d like to try some kind of work related to plants.
Q2: If you could only take one thing with you to a deserted island, what would it be?
Kamimura: I wouldn’t take anything. I used to say a survival kit, but that’s not one thing, so it isn’t fair.
Q3: What would you eat if the world was ending tomorrow?
Kamimura: I want to eat my mom’s rice balls and greet the end of the world having felt someone’s warmth at the end.
Q4: If you could have a part-time job what would you want to do?
Kamimura: Sell ice cream. If there was a young man who plays baseball crying I’d give him half an ice cream and charge him half price. (laughs)
Q5: What would you like to tell the you from five years ago?
Kamimura: “You don’t need to worry so much about everything.” I want to tell her that you don’t need to keep looking around so long wondering if you forgot anything when you get off the train.
Q6: What country would you like to visit?
Kamimura: London. I saw what the city streets look like when I was looking up marmalade and it was really beautiful. I want to learn about their food culture.
Q7: If you could time travel where would you go?
Kamimura: I want to go back to the Warring States Period, see famous people from history, learn about them like “Ah! So that’s what they were like,” and go home.
Q8: If you could be a living thing aside from a human, what would it be?
Kamimura: I want to be a tree in the park and observe the lives of lots of different people. I think it’s wonderful how they occasionally provide warmth and can keep watching the town for such a long time.

Leave a comment