Moriya Akane Interview (Bubka 05/2020)

Interviewer: We interviewed you at the start of 2020, but just after that a number of members announced they were graduating, withdrawing, and going on hiatus. This was a big event for the group, so could you start by talking about that?
Moriya: The three who graduated or withdrew were first gen members who had been supporting Keyakizaka46 since the very start, so it didn’t feel real when they left. But I respect the fact that each person has the right to choose their own path forward in life, and at the same time I felt agitation at myself for being unable to make such big decisions.
Interviewer: I’m sure it’s sad having members leave the group, but at the same time it’s also true that fans have started to look forward to potentially being able to see a new Keyakizaka46. What do you, the people involved, think?
Moriya: Up until now Hirate was leading the charge, playing the main character in our performances, and generally being the main feature, which I think had various effects on the rest of us. We’d each give it our all thinking, “Let’s do our best as a group, let’s do our best to convey the feelings of this song.” But now there’s a feeling that it’d be great if going forward we can each shine and do more work individually, not just as a group.
Interviewer: Having been around as long as you have it’s only natural that members begin to quit and the number of new members increases. It’s impossible to stay the same forever. There have been a number of members who’ve graduated even before this year.
Moriya: That’s true. I think we were truly blessed to be able to keep putting out songs for three years with the full group of 21. That’s why I can’t let myself have anymore regrets, or rather, I’ll look at it in a positive light as an experience I’m grateful for.
Interviewer: Now that the group is changing, do you think you’ll need the individual strengths of each member or the strength of your teamwork as a group in order to take Keyakizaka46 to the next level?
Moriya: Obviously we need both, but if I had to pick on right now I’d say each person’s individual strengths. I’ve felt that way since about two years ago. I thought that our individual strengths were weak in proportion to how much Keyakizaka46 was doing as a group, and now that we’ve got more members graduating I’m convinced it’s a large issue we need to tackle. I’ve also spoken about it with people like Yuuka.
Interviewer: But, in a way, isn’t increasing your individual strengths more difficult than building teamwork?
Moriya: It’s super difficult. There are things you can’t understand unless you’ve experienced them. So I think it’s important to prepare so that you can properly exhibit your ability when the chance comes.
Interviewer: In line with those words, you have an image of continually putting in the effort to both seize chances and be able to exhibit your ability when those chances do come.
Moriya: I always keep in mind to be prepared so that I’ll be okay no matter when they come.
Interviewer: You often talk about dreams in your interviews, don’t you? You seem to be someone who has many dreams and goals you wish to achieve. In the current position, can you see a future where you can seize your dreams?
Moriya: The current Keyakizaka46 is in the process of heading into its second chapter and hasn’t taken that first step yet, so I can’t even imagine what kind of future awaits us. But Keyakizaka46 has been a place that has given me many dreams, and I’m grateful for that, so I’d like it to continue to be that kind of place for a long time. I’d like to try doing various things on my own, but I’ve been reminded how important it is to first work hard as a group so that we can build a strong base for ourselves.
Interviewer: I see. So first you build a strong foundation for Keyakizaka46. Do you have a goal, as a group?
Moriya: I personally would like lots and lots more people to know about us and to someday do concerts overseas, but beyond that I’d also like for us to leave a mark by winning at the Record Awards or something like that. Also, more than anything, I don’t want things to end like this. We’ve come this far, and I honestly feel like it’d be a waste.
Interviewer: A waste?
Moriya: Absolutely. I think we can aim higher and accomplish far more amazing things. We’ve lost first gens, but we’ve got new girls coming in and I get the feeling we’ll be able to chase our dreams again. That it can’t end here.
Interviewer: I think Keyakizaka46 has caused their fair share of a stir these past four years, but you always feel like you can go further, don’t you?
Moriya: That’s right. I especially felt that way up until we released our album.
Interviewer: At any rate, Keyakizaka46 has entered a period of change. Could you tell us what you’d like to remain the same and what you’d actively like to change?
Moriya: What I’d like for us to keep is our characteristic coolness. We’ve done a lot of things that are hard for idols to represent, and I think we’d cease to be Keyakizaka46 if we lost that, so I want to cherish it. Hirate taught and left us so much, and I’d like us to keep that adventurous spirit as we continue to make music together.
Interviewer: So you’d like to keep your approach to the world view of your songs and your performances.
Moriya: For example, even when the cameras aren’t rolling we still have our hair in our faces. But that’s normal to us, so I’d like us to maintain that way of expressing ourselves. As for what I want to change, I think there will come a day when someone other than Hirate is the center, but trying to surpass her will probably become a burden to that person, so I think we need to find a new charm and fuse that with how we’ve been up until now.
Interviewer: Earlier you spoke about a second chapter, but whose face pops into your head as the central figure of that?
Moriya: Yuuka’s. I’m always talking about the group with her and she carries a heavy burden as captain, but talking to her makes me optimistic and I’ve always respected her. She’s someone who makes me want to follow and support her. There’s also the 2nd gens. With the new 2nd gens joining they’ll be like the middle daughter in a group of three sisters, so I get the feeling they’ll show us they’ll show us talents they hadn’t been able to fully manifest until now. They’ve worked plenty hard up to this point, but I’m really looking forward to how they’ll be in the future.
Interviewer: Even if it’s in a way that’s not currently apparent, what kind of person do you think the group needs right now?
Moriya: I think this when I watch Nogizaka46-san or Hinata-chan’s TV shows, but I feel like we need girls who don’t just think things but actually put them into action. We have a lot of girls who can’t speak up even if they’re thinking something. So if we can get more girls like that I’m sure the atmosphere will change.
Interviewer: I see. So, what are the group’s strong points?
Moriya: The members are kind. (laughs) I think we’ve been able to come together and make things the way we have exactly because of that kindness. I think that’s also had an effect on our inability to speak up, but they really are all such good girls.
Interviewer: You’re able to put on such perfectly coordinated performances because the members all respect each other. Keyakizaka46 certainly wouldn’t be the way it is now if everyone was self-centered.
Moriya: I think you’re right.
Interviewer: Previously you stated that you “hate whining,” isn’t that right?
Moriya: Yes. I have a lot to whine about, but I don’t like whining. (laughs)
Interviewer: So you really don’t want to?
Moriya: Even if I do, it won’t solve anything. But apparently, as those worries that I can’t talk about pile up, my throat gets stiff and it’s super bad recently. (laughs)
Interviewer: Do you have a way of relieving it?
Moriya: When I went home recently I yelled a whole lot. (laughs)
Interviewer: Yelled?
Moriya: That’s right. I simply yelled. I’m a weirdo. (laughs) Mama told me, “Cut it out! Someone’s going to call the cops.”
Interviewer: Does yelling help it loosen up?
Moriya: It did! I can’t usually yell, so I went all out. I thought it’d be fine if I was back home.
Interviewer: Did you yell about your worries?
Moriya: No, I didn’t. I yelled things like “Waaaaaaaah!” and “Iiiiiiii!”
Interviewer: What’s with that? (laughs)
Moriya: I’m crazy. (laughs) It seems that yelling helps me relieve stress. I’m the type that doesn’t really feel that stressed out, but it has physical effects on me so I need to deal with it quickly.
Interviewer: And you yell to deal with it.
Moriya: It made me feel better.
Interviewer: You seem to get over things pretty quickly.
Moriya: No, when I get frustrated it hangs around. Anytime I remember the frustration I want to cry. I could cry right now. (laughs)
Interviewer: Right now?!
Moriya: Yes… Crap, crap… I started remembering!
Interviewer: Are your eyes watering? So whenever you remember something like losing on “Keyaki tte Kakenai” you tear up?
Moriya: That’s right. I lose all my motivation right away then cry when I’m alone.
Interviewer: Then you cry again days later when you remember it… It’s pretty amazing that you get that frustrated about it.
Moriya: I’m always having flashbacks to those situations and thinking, “if only I could turn back time.”
Interviewer: On the flip side, that means you’re always taking on everything seriously. Do you ever think “it’s just a game”?
Moriya: I wish I could. It’d be easier.
Interviewer: So you’re incredibly serious and absolutely hate to lose at your core. Even now I remember when you were on “FNS Kayousai” and participated in the idol foot race. You were the only one who painstakingly rehearsed.
Moriya: I begged the staff to let me go practice. I was endlessly running down empty halls.
Interviewer: That’s simply amazing. (laughs)
Moriya: Is it really that funny? (laughs)
Interviewer: It is funny, but I respect how serious you are. And it’s no surprise you came in first. That attitude of never holding back and going for the win serves you well in your work for Keyakizaka46, too. On another note, as of this interview I don’t know when it’ll be released, but please tell us a bit about “Bokutachi no Uso to Shinjitsu: Documentary of Keyakizaka46”
Moriya: I think this is wonderful timing for its release. I imagine there are a lot of people wondering what was really going on behind the scenes during that time and this will probably answer those questions. I think it’s a movie that’ll give you a lot to think about. Personally, I told Director Takahashi Eiki, “I hate lies. I want you to make something that’s true.”
Interviewer: But weren’t you afraid to show behind the scenes in order to convey the truth?
Moriya: I was super scared. It exposes some of my true feelings that I’d been hiding, so I was worried about whether it’d be okay, but I think it’s meaningless to lie in a documentary. The director was also at a bunch of our workplaces and was trying to show on film parts of Keyakizaka46 that we haven’t been able to fully convey so far. That moved me. I think this’ll be an opportunity to convey “this is Keyaki” to people who don’t know about us, in addition to those who love us of course.
Interviewer: It sound like it’ll be a good movie. Nevertheless, your interview today has done a good job of conveying the way you think about the group as vice-captain and how all the members are feelings. It’s probably pointless to ask, but are you fired up right now?
Moriya: I am. It’s pointless to worry and get anxious. That’s the type of mindset I want to have.
Interviewer: That’s great. I’m looking even more forward to Keyakizaka46’s second chapter.
Moriya: I think you’re able to grow more by getting fired up rather than being negative. So I want to keep doing my best!

One thought on “Moriya Akane Interview (Bubka 05/2020)

Leave a comment